What is the best 9.9 mercury to buy?

• Richard Coppess

Hey guys I am about to buy a lowe 1648 aura Jon boat. I am going to get a 9.9 mercury motor for it. It can hold up to a 35 hp maximum which I thought about getting a 25 hp mercury but I have lakes around me that are 9.9 hp motors or under and I’m not worried about speed. I am new to boats but I have banked fished all my life. This will be my first starter boat. Do you guys have any advice on the best 9.9 hp mercury (which model) to buy? Can you use a bigger fuel tank for it than the one that comes with it? What would be a good bank charger to get to go with it to power fish finder battery or trolling motor battery upfront or a cranking battery? Can I use my trolling motor battery as a cranking battery too?? Any advice and suggestions will be helpful. Thanks guys.

Tom Albrecht
    Eau Claire

I just bought the pro kicker. The only thing I don’t like about it is that it’s a cold starter.

cheers

the best merc is the one that says suzuki on the side

iowa_josh

It is that much better than tohatsu?

tim hurley

‘one word for you kid: ‘fuel-injection'( ok thats 2 words)
    Good luck

Ross Gunderson

You may want to consider the Suzuki 9.9 high thrust EFI. Thing is amazing.

TheFamousGrouse
    St. Paul, MN

Do you guys have any advice on the best 9.9 hp mercury (which model) to buy? Can you use a bigger fuel tank for it than the one that comes with it? What would be a good bank charger to get to go with it to power fish finder battery or trolling motor battery upfront or a cranking battery? Can I use my trolling motor battery as a cranking battery too?? Any advice and suggestions will be helpful. Thanks guys.

I’m assuming you’re looking for used?