Water Hemp in food plots

• Jami Ritter
    Hastings, MN

Long time lurker on the Hunting food plot side of ido, this might be my first post over here.
    I need help from the experts.

I’ve been doing food plots for a couple years now, have tractor/planter/sprayers/tiller all the toys
    Every year I put in about 2-3 acres on a small chunk of land
    About an acre ish of corn and soybeans, 1/2 acre of pumpkins and squash

The last couple of years water hemp is kicking my butt
    Fist it wasn’t so bad, then last year it took everything over and I really didn’t have any food left for the deer.

Late April/early may I take the brush hog and mow down the remaining of last years crop and spray with round up.
    Around a week later, I’ll till up the ground, and spray again.
    A week later I’ll start putting seed in the ground.

Mid June I’ll spray again, after that I can’t spray the corn/beans anymore, tractor is too short and I end up doing more damage than good.

What I don’t know/need is what chemical/mixture needed to kill water hemp as it eats roundup and smiles.
    And can it be used on corn/beans/pumpkins??

I enjoy spending time in the field and being a mini farmer, but come mid july when all i see work/money down the drain, it gets me.

So this year I’m hoping to have a fix for that!

Brandon Mckean

From a coworker who also farms, Enlist herbicide or Dicamba herbicide. He says the hemp is bad stuff. Those herbicides are going to kill a bunch of stuff, so do a bunch of research and be careful with them.

TheFamousGrouse
    St. Paul, MN

I don’t have a lot of good news for you. A “fix” for water hemp is not an easy “spray this stuff” answer. Water hemp is a serious weed problem because as you’ve found out, it is often highly resistant to glyphosate (Roundup).