Warning,,,,,,,,,,, this is a non-political post :>)

• Huntindave
    Shell Rock Iowa

Just finished up a nice midsized bowl. I’m very pleased at how it turned out.

I lost track of the wood type, but I believe it is a chunk of Elm. The bowl is 6 7/8 inch in diameter and about 2 1/4 deep. Shellac finish overcoated with an application of paste wax.

Hope everyone is having a good day.

Attachments:
    1. 20200815_133640.jpg

2. 20200815_133723.jpg

3. 20200815_133754.jpg

Tom Sawvell
    Inactive

That must have been a nice near-burl chunk of wood in the beginning. Sweet looking bowl in the end. Very nice work.

buschman
    Pool 2

You did a great job. No checking at all. Have you done a few of these ?? Looks like it. That is elm. I am assuming there was a limb section in there. I have no experience turning but do like the contrast good elm gives when you have a mix of sap and heart wood. A lot like walnut. Just not as dark and smells like elm when you work with it “not a big fan of the smell” I usually get checking/cracks whenever I leave the center ring/pith in the wood but limb shots seem to control that from happening at times.

Bearcat89
    North branch, mn

This makes me miss my grand father. We used to do this in his shop before he passed away. I have a large collection of cars, ships, guns, plates, bowls, and all sorts of stuff he made before he had passed. I was in the process of working and learning his skills when he was taken away.
    This is really nice to see and brought back some awesome memories. I can smell the wood from here and his cigar smoke.
    Very nice work that would look great on a coffee table.

Huntindave
    Shell Rock Iowa

Thanks guys, for the accolades. Thanks also for confirming that it is Elm.