New comer looking for advise…help!

• jld235
    Eau Claire

Hi all. I’m new to both your website and river fishing. I’ve moved out of the hustle and bustle of Milw and settled down in the God’s Country. Anyways, I’ve run the lines on Great Lakes charters through my college years, but am switching over to your style fishing. The problem is I’ve never done it before. I’ve been reading everything I can get my hands on, and just ordered the video offered by one of our pros. I’m in the process of putting together my arsenol of baits and am looking for some staples you guys always keep handy. I’ve been picking up Shad Raps in sizes from 4-7 in perch, Bright yellow, and blue. And I’m now looking to start in on the plastics. Advise on BfishN’s plastics vs. Gulp vs. Powerbait??? And any help colors would be great. Since I’m just starting out, I need to get a good base of solid producers. Let me thank all of you for your help in advance. I can’t believe how helpful everyone is. I know for a fact this type of generosity would never be found on Lake Mich. I look forward to your future articles.

JD

riveratt
    Central Wisconsin US-of-A

Welcome aboard! Not sure what area your in exactly but if you watch these forums it isn’t rare to see a fellow angler looking for company on a fishing trip. Could be a great way to learn this area and meet a new fishing pal.

The best advice anyone can give is this. Read as much as you can here, but when time permits get out and fish!

kooty
    Keymaster
    1 hour 15 mins to the Pond

Welcome JD.

Some of my favorite colors for plastics are a variety of shades in blue, purples, chartrues(of course, every walleye fisherman has a chartruese grub). I have a variety of grubs(3″), ringworms(4″) and super doos. I also have a small selection of shad bodies. This will get you started. BFN, has a great selection of plastics. Let us know if you have any other questions.