Tweaking blade baits

• popcorn

I was wondering if anyone oh here has done any modifications to blade baits? I’ve been making my own for 10+ years starting off adding lead to a flattened willow leaf blade and drilling some holes. I’ve had the do it mold which speeds the process up immensely for a few years now and it realy streamlined the process. The only problem is that the fish show a preference to the willow leaf model with a more subtle action.

My question is has anyone tried either sanding the blanks thinner or gone to a shop and had some thinner blanks made? Would this even tone down the wider wobble or is it more so the position of the lead?

I also looked around to see if I could find a company other than do-it that makes blade bait molds but came up short. There was talk on other forums about the silver buddy mold that has been discontinued having the subtle action that I’m looking for but my only chance at getting one of those is from someone that is willing to part with it. I also don’t know that there are blanks available for it if I were to obtain one.

Maybe I’m putting to much thought into this but with all the knowledge on this site I figured someone might have some insight on the subject.

FishBlood&RiverMud
    Prescott

I have been slowly working on creating my own blade bait by modifying various (Non blade bait) molds i own. Started in October and haven’t been back at it again.

I want to create a 3/16 & 1/4oz on a ZBM and an 1/8 on a ZBS for the slowest current in dead of winter in shallow water. Light vibe action with a slow fall.
    This is about all i want to add at this point. I’m not a fan of the willow blade models.

You will get responses on TU if you haven’t already tried.

Best of luck!

Tom Sawvell
    Inactive

Tweak some of these.

Attachments:
    1. IMG_1821.jpg

popcorn