Tree Disease

• Gary M

I have a few White and Blue spruce trees(I think that is what they are called) and they are starting to loose there needles. I googled it but not quite sure what it is and If I can save them and stop it from spreading to the rest of my trees.
    So anybody have similar problems with your trees and what did you do to save them.
    Thanks
    Gary

Attachments:
    1. tree-1-1.jpg

2. tree-2.jpg

3. tree-1.jpg

bigcrappie
    Blaine

The golf course lost over 140 Eastern White pine due to disease and I lost 5 in my back yard also. I have Blue and black spruce and they are doing fine. I have the U of M extension to be a good source of info on trees.

Hard Water Fan
    Shieldsville

I have similar issues with my spruce and a lot can be attributed to crowding or sunlight availability.

I have had problems with spruce saw flies in the past and that has also done some damage.

buckybadger
    Upper Midwest

I’m not an expert to answer your questions, but just transplanted a bunch of 4′ tall ones that are about an inch in diameter at the base.

If someone chimes in I’m all ears to try and protect them too.

CaptainMusky

My neighbors spruce trees did that too and it kept spreading to other trees. I believe a tree person said it was some sort of beetle. Then ended up cutting them all down and putting up a fence.

John Rasmussen
    Blaine

I have a regular pine? in my front yard that has a spot on the lower end on one side that looks like that. I just thought maybe it was because it was buried in snow the whole winter.

gimruis
    Plymouth, MN

Its a fungus called Cytospora. Somewhat common in older spruce trees.

It cannot be treated or reversed. What you can do is remove the affected branches and minimize spread to the rest of the tree. I would recommend wearing gloves should you attempt that.

Quite often, it has occurred as a result of other stress such as drought, lack of sunlight/overcrowding, or insect infestations.

Gary M