Tick prevention for dogs

• beardly
    Hastings, Mn

In the past I have used the topical type tick stuff for my dogs. I hate the mess it leaves on their fur. I looked into the chewable type (Bravecto) but seen some typical internet scare stories. My wife also seen stories, news articles etc etc and is worried about giving it to our dogs. One is a 14 year old lab and the other is her 6 year old lap dog. Have any of you had good or bad luck with any brand of oral tick prevention for dogs?

Ralph Wiggum
    Maple Grove, MN

We’re on year #3 with Bravecto, and I think it’s fantastic. I have used K9 Advantix in the past, and I hated the greasy mess.

You can read internet horror stories about the topicals, too. Of course, there is a chance your dogs could have a negative reaction, but lots of dogs take it with no issues. Some people are allergic to human meds, too. It’s a risk you take.

suzuki
    Woodbury, Mn

I have been using the chewables for two years with no ill effect. I sure hated the topical once per month. What a mess that was. Using NexGard.

Bearcat89
    North branch, mn

I also give both our dogs the chewables

Reef W

Any type can have adverse effects, if you look for them you’ll find them. I switched from Vectra3D (topical) to Nexgard (oral) last year and haven’t had any issues.

BigWerm
    SW Metro

We have a 10 year old boxer and 5 year old lab, and gave them both Bravecto a couple years ago. Boxer had seizure issues temporarily after, the Lab was fine. My FW saw one of the Boxer’s seizures, so we don’t use it anymore.

glenn57
    cold spring mn

We’re on year #3 with Bravecto, and I think it’s fantastic. I have used K9 Advantix in the past, and I hated the greasy mess.