tear drop jig question

• chris
    northern Illinois

I’m looking at getting a new jig mold and have been reading that the teardrop style jig like the h2o precision jig and the hutch’s jigs seem to be popular with river walleye anglers and I was just wondering why they are better than the round head jig, I am new to mississippi river walleye and just want to get the right mold. My other option was the minnow head mold with wire keeper but it is more panfish sized and I haven’t had much issue with catching them with round head jigs I make. Thanks

wimwuen
    LaCrosse, WI

The tear drops just cut current better and are a sleeker all around shape. Think of it this way, do minnows have sleek heads that come to a point like a tear drop, or a big round blob like a round head? Both will work, but I feel that the tear drop looks more natural and cuts current better.

Tim J
    Duluth, MN

I agree with what wimwuen said. However, my experience has shown me that aspirin head jigs cut the current better than a tear drop. My experience has been with the vmc mooneye jigs. Not sure if you can find a mold like that.

nhamm
    Inactive
    Robbinsdale

I’ll agree with both guys, but cutting current isn’t necessarily what you always want!

Personally I’ve caught just as many fish on round type jigs, especially fireball to a point where I dont think most days the profile of the jig makes a difference.

Many of the tear drop styles do have fancy paint jobs though, and that might lure anglers to them.

Jake Hendrickson
    Inactive
    Madison, WI

Chris –

I bought the Do-It tear drop mold a few years ago, best decision in my book. the jig works great in rivers obviously, but works just as good in lakes. whats nice about the mold is that you can do oversized hooks for the bigger plastics, just like the H2O jigs, and the recessed pockets for sticker eyes make it really easy to paint up a nice looking jig. Saves you some $$ as well in the long game.

Crankbait