Teaching – a dying profession?

• slough

Although it seems to be hitting basically every job market lately, it has been in the news a lot that schools are having a hard time finding teachers. Even areas that once attracted dozens if not well over a hundred applicants (elementary, phy ed, social studies) are often unfilled now. Certainly a concerning trend – full disclosure, I am a teacher. Are you seeing this in your local area as well?

Bearcat89
    North branch, mn

Under paid over worked. Pointless agendas teaching alot of useless information. I guess I get it. Who wants to go to college to make 50k a year

big_g
    Isle, MN

The old adage, teachers teach because they love it.. not for the money.. is now a really old adage.

Coletrain27

I wouldn’t want to be a teacher for the pay now days either

Ripjiggen

50k for 8 months a year isn’t that bad.🤷‍♂️

big_g
    Isle, MN

what I found…

The average High School Teacher salary in Minnesota is $63,400 as of July 26, 2022, but the range typically falls between $51,400 and $78,900

rumriverrunner

Dumbest comment ever heard-Who wants to go to college to make 50k a year.

I have two family member that are teachers…both make over 75K a year in public schools. In fact one is spending 6 months in the southern hemisphere as we speak. They will have a sub for him until the 1st of the year then gets his job back.

Who wants to go to college to make 50k a year….absolutely comical.

castle-rock-clown