Strike master auger question

• brueggemanate
    NW Iowa

Deciding to possibly upgrade to a gas auger. I have an Electra strikemaster lazer auger but am always niourvious about loosing battery life and what a pain it is to change batteries in cold temps without gloves on. One question would be is an electric auger that bad to deal with changing batteries because of hearing some bad stories/ reviews with a gas auger not starting, ripping out the cored, or what kind of oil to mix with it?

Looking at getting either a strikemaster lazer pro or lazer mag and if there is that big of a difference in .5 a HP or $50. If the more power is always better or can I just get by with the 2.5 HP. I live in NW Iowa but frequently fish SD regularly so sometimes 5 holes and up to 30-40 or more some days.

gonehunting

I have the Lazer Pro and it is an ice cutting machine. I personally do not regret getting the 3hp. Word of advice. When starting the solo motor make sure to follow the starting instructions in the owners manual. Mine fires on the second pull all the time. So many complain about these being hard starting but if you follow the directions you will not have problems. Use non-oxygenated fuel also.

JoeMX1825
    MN

I have an Ion and it literally takes 2 seconds to change out the battery pack if needed…. The lithium Strikemaster uses a similar system, nothing compared to the older battery augers…

Joel Nelson
    Southeast MN

Deciding to possibly upgrade to a gas auger. I have an Electra strikemaster lazer auger but am always niourvious about loosing battery life and what a pain it is to change batteries in cold temps without gloves on. One question would be is an electric auger that bad to deal with changing batteries because of hearing some bad stories/ reviews with a gas auger not starting, ripping out the cored, or what kind of oil to mix with it?