Fly Fishing Beginner Needs Help

• EricNaig
    Cylinder, IA

Cool forum……..I would love to get up into NE IA/SE MN and catch some of those trout. I have heard great things about the stream fisheries.

Over here in NW IA we have “cricks” not streams. LOL

I recently got a 6 weight Fenwick fly rod and reel. I also ordered a weight forward line. I have a friend of mine who is going to teach me how to cast the thing. It will be used (at least to start with) fishing for bluegills and bass in my pond.

My questions are:

1. What are the best kind of tippets/leaders to use and how do you fasten them to the fly line?

2. What type of flies do I use to catch bluegills/bass?

3. Can you direct me to any good resources on this subject (I’m a true beginner with this fly fishing)?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Eric Naig

JimW
    SE MN

Hey Eric, if you are in the area on APril 27th, I will be hosting my Second Annual Trout Day at Forestville State PArk. The event starts at 9:00am. There will be a flyfishing 101 class, given by EFN’s own John Eggers. There will be a spin fishing seminar, fly tying demos, electro-fishing demo given by the DNR and an invertabrate collection and study provided by MInn Aqua. This is a free day with free door prizes for registered attendees.

SE MN trout maps, easement maps, fishing regs will be available for the first 50. There might even be a discounted park pass offered as well! So come one, come all!

Jim W

EricNaig
    Cylinder, IA

Sounds like a great time. Unfortunately, I won’t be able to attend…….(I’m pre-fishing for a tournament in South Dakota)

Good luck with the event!

Eric Naig

kreading
    Iowa, Davenport

Hey ERic- I’ve fished all over that area your talking about, but like you can’t get there offfen enough.