Suffix braid vs. Power pro

• dan-tessmann
    Kieler, Wis

I have been a power pro fan for a long time and have never had any problems with it. Lately I have been wanting to try the suffix 80 lbs for throwing frogs. What are the pros and cons of the suffix braid. Does it cast well and how durable is it. I know they both eventually bleed out and that isnt a problem for me. Just looking for a few opinions. Thank you, Dan

super_do
    St Michael, MN

I’ve tried both and prefer Power Pro. IMO it holds it’s shape better. Both are great lines though. My question is: why would you want to go to 80lb? I would assume you would lose quite a bit of casting distance over the 50lb or 65lb line and there ain’t no bass in MN that is going to break that as long as you retie every once in a while.

dtro
    Inactive
    Jordan

I use it a little differently for cats, but IMO Sufix is head and shoulders better than PP. Not only is rounder and more limp, it holds it’s colored dye a little better (HiVis), and I don’t have random break offs like I did with PP.

I did a bunch of tensile testing with some different braids, and Sufix was always on top for strength, however it didn’t get close to advertised strength of 80. More like 60-65. PP was even worse as it was in the 50 range.

Brian Klawitter
    Keymaster
    Minnesota/Wisconsin Mississippi River

Dan, I’ve been a PowerPro guy for years too.

This last winter I changed over to Cortland Master Braid Hi Vis in the 80 pound test from a suggestion from Dean at Everts. I’ve been using it since April this spring and am very happy with it.

No line fade at this time.
    Casts further (I think because it’s more round(?))
    I find it easier to tie (personal preference)
    and
    it does’nt wear as fast where my 4 oz sinker slides up and down the line.

I’ve been working on a comparison to PP but haven’t had the time to finish it.

Just wanted to let you know Suffix isn’t your only choice.

Brian Klawitter
    Keymaster