Setting Up My Boys For Muskies

• fisherman-j
    Northern MN

I have a 14 year old muskie head and his little brother 11 also is getting the bug. The 14 year old is throwing a 6’6″ MH St Croix Premier with an older Abu Ambassador that wore out over the weekend. My 11 yr old is currently using a bass set up. Being they both love fishing for northerns and muskies and I have little experience – I would greatly appreciate some input.

I have a 7′ MH Premier and a 6’6″ Premier. My plan is to have my 11 yr old start using the 6’6″ Premier and my 14 yr old use the 7′ Premier. My 11 yr old casted the 6’6″ very well this weekend (and caught a northern on his first cast with it).

I’ll need to get them reels – both want low profile. We throw a variety of lures, from bucktails to spinner baits to top water, to cranks. My 14 yr old is convinced he wants a single handle reel – but has yet to try one. I was looking online at the Abu Toros (and the 50 different versions), Diawa Lexas/Lexa HD’s and the Curado 300 E’s. I’m not sure what size, varieties and types of models and ratios would be the best for either of the boys – or if there are any other brands to consider and/or lower priced options. Not sure if I should get them similar reels or have my 11 yr old get a little lesser reel and eventually move into his older brother’s reel and upgrade the older brothers in a few years. Finally, if anyone has any used reels or know of any goods deals it would also be really appreciated. Thanks again.

john23
    St. Paul, MN

The revo toro 50 NaCl with the 5.3:1 gear ratio (standard ratio, not HS or winch) is a perfect match for both boys. Abu is introducing new revo reels and they may have discontinued them, though. The replacement looks like the Revo Toro S model # Revo T2 S50. The 5.3:1 gear ratio is important, as is the 50 size for muskies.