Downrigger Stacking

• Hillbiehle

How do you use a stacker on a portable downrigger? I have made some assumptions, but need clarification as I’ve never used before. I see some stackers have two clips on the same cable end and I see others that have one clip on one end and a swivel on the other. If I was fishing with one other person, wouldn’t I put one lure behind the ball, and stack the other higher..correct? I assume that the single clip (with swivel/clevis) would go on the cable, and the swivel / clevis would be on the fishing line. When a fish hites, the clip releases from the cable, and the stack line would then slide down as you were fighting the fish…correct?

This is for canada lake trout for two people. Would I be better off running the stacker with two clips behind the ball or spread out with one above?

skulskitom

I run a snap with 2 clips one long one short, reason is the small clip is attached to cable right above snap so it does not slide down the cable then attach long one to line and just offset the rods so they dont tangle up depending if lower one off the ball goes off first. It seems like a pain but have tried the single ones and they dont open all the time and i hate fighting them on the rigger usually breaks the line and lose $70 worth of tackle,

tsamp
    eldora, iowa

I use two types. One has two clip pads and a snap and I use it for setting at a certain spot on the down rigger cable. Snap on the cable, one pad on your line, other pad on the cable at the depth you wish above the ball. If I do not have the double pad stacker, I have also used a rubber band on the cable and through the snap to keep the stacker from moving. The other is a snap and single pad. Snap on the cable, pad on your line. This finds the bow in the down rigger cable and settles there. I find it is usually close to half the depth of the ball. I call this one a floating stacker. Hope this helps.

Hillbiehle

Thanks for the replys folks.