sucker question

• the pyromaniac

I have a standard metric wholeheckuvalot of small rivers & creeks in my area, most of which are full of suckers. I’ve been fishing said waters for 30 years and caught a grand total of 4 suckers on hook & line. I know it’s not that I’m a bad angler (61 species caught, and citations for brown trout, common carp, spotted bass, rock bass, and bluegill), but clearly something I’m doing ain’t working.

HELP!

mplspug
    Palmetto, Florida

We can’t help if you don’t start by telling us what you are doing.

cougareye
    Hudson, WI

I’m not falling for this like our resident “sucker” pug did!!

big_g
    Isle, MN

Try this… works for me

the pyromaniac

Quote:

Usually I’m drifting nightcrawlers & mealworms through the head of a pool, where I know there are hogsuckers, redhorse, and white suckers (and in some streams torrent suckers, rustyside suckers, and creek chubsuckers). I’ll use a little weight, but not so much that it won’t look natural, and usually 8-pound line because of the bruiser trout and bass in these areas.

Ralph Wiggum
    Maple Grove, MN

A chunk of crawler with a slip sinker 18″ above it works for me. I know some guys like to drift them, but I prefer mine pegged to the bottom. Current seams and pools are usually good.
    It ain’t rocket science. If you aren’t catching fish, move and repeat.

mplspug
    Palmetto, Florida

Quote:

Quote:

Usually I’m drifting nightcrawlers & mealworms through the head of a pool, where I know there are hogsuckers, redhorse, and white suckers (and in some streams torrent suckers, rustyside suckers, and creek chubsuckers). I’ll use a little weight, but not so much that it won’t look natural, and usually 8-pound line because of the bruiser trout and bass in these areas.