Rod builders?

• Red Eye

Question for the custom rod builders and custom rod users. I’m looking to build a rod for pitching 1/16-1/8oz jig and shinners in spring. Thinking a ML 6’8” fast/extra fast rod. What’s your opinion on the most sensitive/lightest blank to build on? St Croix? Rainshadow? North fork? MHX? Lets hear it?

Hard to beat a SCV St. Croix Blank although North Fork makes a few really nice blanks as well. A lot of custom rod builders build off Rainshadow blanks and they are a good blank for the value but if you’re looking for a high quality blank I’d stick to the 2 options above.

I’m no expert by any means but one thing I’ve learned over the past couple years is that the guide train is almost as important as the blank itself so plan on investing some money into that component of the build as well. Fuji Titanium Single Foot Guides with SIC inserts are what I’ve used on my last couple builds and I have been very happy with them. Carbon Fiber split grip handles are pretty sweet too if your looking to keep things as light as possible.

gonefishin

Hi, I have only built a couple of rods but I am in the process of starting to build a 7′ 6″ crank bait rod with a Rainshadow blank. I am not using premium components as this is a crank rod but still my component cost is $176 and I went through Gary’s Custom Rods to order the components. I spent days looking at the components.
    My take is if you go with the SCV and the Fuji Titanium Guides you will be close to what you can buy the rod for, but of course them it would not be custom.
    Justin with SCV, Titanium Guides, and carbon fiber grips for your last couple of rods what was the cost?
    For my first rod I went high end on components except for the blank and now have a throw away rod. If your first rod I wouldn’t go all out.

Brady Valberg