early crappie spawn?

• crappies

just trying to get peoples opinon’s on how this warm weather will effect the crappie spawn. i personaly can catch them here and there but not bunched up yet. with this weather you would think that pre spawn is right around the corner. ive also noticed the crappie that i am catching have very few eggs in them. i like taking a little mess home but i always try to take the males and the let the big females go for better stock down the road.im not an expert or anything but i think this low water, low snow amounts and recored breaking weather this years spawn will not be a good one.any thoughts?

adam-bartusek
    New Prague, MN

It’s gonna be a very early spawn and I actually think it will be a very good one. From what I have seen with the Northerns already spawned, the crappies should be following up. I think the window this year to catch them spawning and shallowis going to be very minimal.

mwal
    Rosemount,MN

Remember that the big shallow push of crappies in the spring is pre spawn. They spawn late May into June like Bluegills. They need sustained 65 plus water temps and the right length of sun light etc.

Mwal

adam-bartusek
    New Prague, MN

Indeed I am aware of that. Water temps are already in the 60’s down here too.

85lund
    Menomonie, WI

On our lake here I don’t expect it to be too soon. I would think it will be a little early if this weather holds but as posted above there is more to triggering a spawn than just water temps

rod-man
    Pine City, MN.

Quote:

Indeed I am aware of that. Water temps are already in the 60’s down here too.

what lake has water in the 60s?
    best I can find is 51 in a very shallow lake

adam-bartusek
    New Prague, MN

Geneiva was 61 last sunday morning. Down by Albert Lea, the northern have already spawned in that lake. I was with the DNR trap netting them.

Tom Sawvell
    Inactive