Reasonable Size & Weight for a Loaded Sled When Walking?

• Snowhunter

I’m a rookie trying to put together an ice fishing kit to maximize our enjoyment on the ice. My goal is as much about family time and memories as it is about catching fish. I’m going to be limited to a single sled (due to vehicle space), hauling it out on foot. It has to take care of 1 – 4 of us with most times probably being 2 – 3 (adults and teens). I’ve got an Otter Lodge Hub, a Helix 7 ice rig, a 13 Qt. Engel Bait cooler, a Partner Steel single burner stove, a 20 Qt. soft cooler, 2 hand augers and four rods. I will be adding 5 – 10 traps, at least 2 more rods, chairs, a Buddy heater and who knows what else.

I’m looking at the Otter Pro Medium and Kodiak XL sleds. Will these be big enough? Too big? How much weight can I comfortably pull? (I’m 6’1″, 220 lbs., 59 and in reasonable shape). Are these big enough for what I want to haul? We probably won’t be going more than a mile out (probably less) but to be honest I really don’t have a clue.

Thanks!

Rich Stuhr
    South Dakota

If there is no snow on the ice you can pull a heavily loaded sled with one finger…if (when) you get snow that’s when the grunting begins. I am a year older than you, average in health, and of similar size and pull an Otter XT Pro Cottage with all my gear and auger in the sled…estimated total weight is somewhere around 135 lbs. Even at that weight it can be a chore at times pulling it alone on snow covered ice if I have to go any distance.

PmB

U need a smitty sled. Makes it easy to pull in most conditions

Attachments:
    1. IMG_3424.jpg

catmando
    wis

U need a Smitty sled. Makes it easy to pull in most conditions

I made mine exactly the same way….this is what you need! DK.

milemark_714

Smitty sled and a harness.You will appreciate it when you get that first decent snowfall.A lot easier to pull with arms free.