Rainy Lake near Enos Island

• Chris Aker

Hi again,

My last post asked whether it would be better for me to buy a retirement home on Rainy River or Rainy Lake, based solely on the quality of the fishing. I was told overwhelmingly that the lake was the best choice. I’ve been researching the area for a few months, and have found a few places on the lake I think we can afford. Now I want to know if there are certain areas of the lake that are better than others. More importantly, are there any areas that are downright poor. I’m guessing I’ll be thrilled with anywhere on the lake, because of the great fishing. But, I’d still like to get your expertise. I found a couple of places near Enos Island and the Rainy Lake Marina. Is that area good for fishing, and does it allow me decent access to fishing the Canadian side of the lake? One of the responses to my last post said the Canadian side was really great for fishing. Thanks much for any help you can give me.

BigWerm
    SW Metro

I don’t think there is a bad place on Rainy, there is so much structure you should be able to find fish nearby most places. My .02 is make sure you have enough boat for the lake, as it gets downright nasty when the wind and lake kicks up. And you will want something you can take all the way to Kettle Falls every once in a while, along with into Canada. Living on an island sounds majestic, but remember that means every trip to the store requires a boat or snowmobile ride. If I were you, and serious about this move, I would rent a cabin/houseboat/hotel for a week + and venture around. Hire a guide (RainyDaze and Chris Granrud are awesome, among many other options up there) and get their input, not only on the fishing but on everyday life.

Chris Aker