Prop Spin…Just Barely.

• Nick Cox
    Minnesota

I am in process of getting a boat ready to sell. It is a 1989 SeaRay Seville Mid Cabin with a rebuilt 2009 Mercruiser 4.3L. I feel like everything on this boat has been replaced since I have owned it the past six years. Now we have kids on the way, and I want to sell it. The problem is I just fired her up for the first time since 11/14 and while she runs good I am not getting good prop spin when I rev the engine on a fake a lake. The last time I had the boat in the water was 2014, and at that time I remember loosing power under load where the engine would rev RPM’s but the boat wouldn’t move forward or backwards very well.

I have been looking at forums, and researching this. I am not a mechanic by any means, and I am a little outside of my comfort zone with this type of boat and engine.

As much as I hope it is just a spun hub inside the propeller, I am prepping myself for the worst case scenario and think it could even be a spun engine coupler.

Does anyone have experience working on these motors or boats? I am willing to pay the right person to diagnose the problem, I just want to avoid the marina’s if possible (@ $179+ hour) and limit the amount of money I put into this thing since I am trying to sell it.

I am open to any ideas or advice.

Thanks!

munchy
    NULL

First thing I would do is bring the prop in and have it inspected. If it is good then you probably have something internally wrong.

However from your description my bet is on the spun hub.

Ralph Wiggum
    Maple Grove, MN

Easiest way to check if it’s a spun hub is to draw a line across the prop and hub, take the boat out and run it, and see if the line is still lined up or if it’s moved. That would be where I’d start.

TheFamousGrouse
    St. Paul, MN

Nick, the easiest way to narrow this down is to take the prop off and take it in to the nearest prop shop and have them check for a spun hub. That’s the easy solution even if it costs a few bucks.