Over Promotion of Fishing

• Dave G
    Rochester, MN

I have been fishing Pool 4 for 15 years and don’t think I have ever seen it as busy as it has been this last year. I am becoming concerned that the constant daily fishing pressure will eventually take its toll on our fishing quality or compel the DNR to make drastic changes. If this pressure keeps up, I expect there could eventually be Pool 4 regulation changes made to more closely match some of the MN/WI inland regulations (closed seasons, one line, slots, etc).

With the introduction of the internet and all the open sharing of information, I sometimes wonder if we haven’t over promoted Pool 4 fishing. I would hate for us lose the very thing we have promoted so strongly.

Dave Gulczinski

jon_jordan
    St. Paul, Mn

Dave,

May 10th and all will return to normal! Twentysix days and counting……

As I have stated before, I am all for regulation changes from the end of February Lake closings to the opener. I would like to see a Rainey River rule here. Two fish limit and none over 20. (Just during the period of the lake closures, then return to normal rules.)

Everyone who wants to can still fish, still catch, still keep a couple for dinner!

Jon J.

jeffsedlmayr
    Wisconsin

more than a couple would suit just fine, most people are feeding a family, 3-5 people, or are have a fish fry, so something on the lines of 4 fish per person or 10 total per boat sounds decent, all over 20 go back

Dave G
    Rochester, MN

Every time it gets crowded I hear talks about rule changes. Each year it gets more and more crowded as pool 4 is promoted as just about the only place in a several state area with open water and great fishing from October to May. Yes, I believe stricter regulations to protect the fish may help fishing. But what about the crowds – they are still going to keep coming and getting lager, regardless of minor fishing restrictions.