Paying duty entering Canada

• midnight
    Grand Rapids, MN

Going to Canada for a week and I know there are restrictions on the amount of alcohol each person can bring in. Does anyone know the amount of duty that will be charged if you would like to bring more than one case of beer? Also would it be better to purchase at the Duty Free store in International Falls, I have no experience with this process and just looking for some information.

ptc
    Apple Valley/Isle, MN

No idea regarding duty. I am in Ontario often. Beer there is 45-55 dollars per case in Canadian dollars. Based on the value of Canadian currency and the hassle of taking beer across plus the wide variety of great beers there, buy there.

Go to the Beer Store (if in Ontario) better selection than the LCBO. If you want anything other than beer, you’ll need to go to LCBO too.

sticker
    StillwaterMN/Ottertail county

it’s a percentage of what you paid for the beer, but I am not sure what percent, but keep your reciept if you get a good deal and are taking it across. I go every year in October and we always bring a little extra with and pay the duty. Beer/booze is spendy up there, but the Canadian dollar is lower than our right now. Have not tried the duty free shops, so can’t comment on that.

ariat
    Ottertail Lake,mn

Duty free is ok if you want a bottle of crown royal or something you might save a few bucks. As far as beer goes they ussualy ask you how much you paid for it. We tell them we pay $20 a case at home so they charge us around $9 duty.
    Where are you heading to in Canada? good luck!!, we leave in 5 weeks!!can’t wait!

TheFamousGrouse
    St. Paul, MN

Essentially, what the duty does is apply all Canadian national and provincial taxes to the item you’re bringing in.

When I have been charged for duty, the worst I seem to do is that the item cost me what I would have paid had I bought it in Canada.