Need Tips for Solo Boat Launching

• Andrew Rice

This is my first year having a boat and one thing I am still trying to figure out is: what is the best way to tie up the boat to the dock while I go get the truck and back the trailer in. The big problem is the lakes I mainly fish are low and getting lower and the docks are HIGH! I have been to a couple of ramps that the boat gunnel will actually drift under the frame work of the dock. I know I could tie up on the down wind side but that isn’t always an option. The shorelines are always rocky and the wind is almost always blowing.

Thanks in advance!

Matt Moen
    South Minneapolis

Are you worried about launching or tieing up? Seems more like tieing to the dock.

I’d maybe tie to the end perpendicular to the dock. Shouldn’t drift under then.

I have a talon and use that all the time to hold me near shore or next to the dock while launching.

bigcrappie
    Blaine

I see people these days use there trolling motor and using the Anchor mode to hold the boat off the dock.

Andrew Rice

I guess it is more of tying off issue. I’ve done the perpendicular and it works. I do have a TM with spot lock but it’s a Gen 1 and 12V and I don’t trust it. Maybe I need to try it. I don’t have a talon either.

Another issue is the cleats on my boat are old and breaking. They are the style where you weave the rope back and forth so combine that with the high angle required for tying off and the cleats are breaking off piece by piece.

grizzly
    nebraska

I see people these days use there trolling motor and using the Anchor mode to hold the boat off the dock.

my spot lock shut off once while getting the truck and away it went,dont trust mine anymore

Dutchboy
    Central Mn.

Andrew there is no law that says you have to tie your boat off in deep water. Run it shallow on the opposite side that you are loading on. Get the trailer in the water push the boat back and walk it back down the dock to deeper water and load it up.

Matt Moen