cat tips for a total newbie

• fishface

So I read these posts and drool. I’ve been a fisherman for over 25 years. I’m new to freshwater fishing, have a boat, live in Bloomington, and want to catch cats…any size! Assuming I put in at the I-35W bridge/Lyndale, how should I approach catfishing? Seems like I need to catch some bullheads first for big game catching. How would I go about this? Can I anchor to the bottom of the river, or is it too dangerous (possibly losing anchor)? Seems like if i find a logjam I should base upstream of it. I have the tackle (leftover saltwater stuff) and the rods (my muskie set-ups). Would the 50-80 pound power pro line be too much, since I may get a snag and be unable to break the line? Night time seems the best, is this the case? Anything I have to pay special attention to at night (like logs)? Should I just park on shore by a good spot (please supply good spot structures) and cast from shore? Should I avoid the middle of the river, fishing on the edges? I’m off 4 days a week and have ample time to learn on the water. Any tips will help me, and assume I’m a special ed student. I’m just a big game hunter needing big game!

roemeling