Making your own broth

• mossydan
    Cedar Rapids, Iowa

Heres something that im not sure if its been covered or not. Im sure theres a few atleast that make thier own broth and put in a jar or freezer bag and freeze it for future use. Ive been makeing mine for the last 6 months because of health reasons and have gotten pretty good at making chicken broth, because chicken is reasonably cheap and hits the spot on a cold winter befor i hit the hay. I seen a deal at aldis food store the other day on chicken legs, 14 of just the legs alone and not the thighs for a 3$ price so bought them. I added some chopped celery and onions, im an onion man-the more the better. I boiled them until you can take the bone out of the meat freely, by then the skin just slides off and goes to the dog and the meat is still in portions and not starting to really seperate too smaller pieces. I deboned it, took the meat and put that into a plastic food saver and then found the right coarse black pepper and the right amount of salt then simmered it down to the right density of taste. The broth turned out so good and rich that i could thin it down about 30% and still end up with a real good tasting broth, guess what, its about half gone. Out of those 14 legs I got about 2 full quarts of very good tasteing broth. Theres got to be a few dozen ways to make broth so whats yours.

BigWerm
    SW Metro

I always freeze our whole/rotisserie chicken bones throughout the year, and then boil a huge batch of broth with them and the leftover turkey bones from Thanksgiving and salt. Once the broth is made I make some into soup right away, and save the rest for later. I usually will smoke a Turkey for Thanksgiving and that makes the broth a lot better imo. This broth is WAY better than store bought, and is very versatile in it’s uses. It’s great for broth soup, part of the base of creamy soup, or in gravy’s.

Tom Sawvell
    Inactive