auger mount on atv

• doonan
    Storm Lake, IA

Just bought a honda rancher and Im looking for some input on a good auger mount for the front of the atv. I have a strikemaster lazer if that makes any difference. Thank you for the help.

hodge91
    La Crosse WI

Stearns \ Mad Dog makes one that mounts to most racks, holds the handle in 2 spots and will accomodate up to a 10″ blade, I have it on my ATV but don’t have a pic, not sure how sturdy this will be so I have a strap also

trumar
    Rochester, Mn

Quote:

Yep.. MAD DOG here too Auger Rack

big G

X3

Richard V.
    Somewhere over the rainbow

My Otter works great, just slide it in and go.

wilson1984

Quote:

My Otter works great, just slide it in and go.

I just got the otter tube. Do you do anything to keep it in? Do you take it out when your driving to a lake? My auger seems to stick out a bit, I was afraid it would bounce around so much in it, it would hurt it. What do you think?

matt_grow
    Albertville MN

On the rim of the Otter Auger Shield is a lip. I take 1 12″ bungy and strap it snug. I guess I’m just a wild man driving!

John Schultz
    Inactive
    Portage, WI

Can you mount the otter tube on an ATV without the otter box or does it only work when you have the otter box?

wilson1984

You could make it work without the monster box, but you would have to make up a way to mount it. It is made to just slide onto the box. You sure could put it up front and strap it to your rack though. Good luck

chomps
    Sioux City IA

I know the ATV and sled shop in Sheldon (Glen’s) can order them, I’d go the mad dog way for now, if and when you get an Otter box on the back you may want to use the attachment system for other things like gas tanks or rod boxes.

John Schultz
    Inactive
    Portage, WI