fish finder for shallow water,etc

• iceman71
    NULL

I do a lot of shallow water fishing,6 feet and up…Looking to up grade from my humminbird 165 piranna….thinking of a flasher…But I want something that is going to work for what I want it to do..Show fish and my jig in the shallow waters as well as down to say,,50 foot if ever I go that far..So give me some ideas please…and how about the angle of the cone as well…I think the one I have is a 20 – 60
    sometimes it works and sometimes it don’t….

Dave Koonce
    Prairie du Chien Wi.

I have been running an LX-5 for many years now… I fish the back waters of the mississippi river.. like you… 6 feet or less for the most part…

I run it in the super fine line mode and have a great return…

It has a 8 and 20 degree cone angle for a huge array of fishing conditions…

Here is the link to the LX-5 Dual Beam True Color Flasher

Michelle1969
    NULL

Does the transducer angle 8 or 20 make a difference in 5′ of water?

Bryan Myers

The 20 degree cone will cover more of the water column which is what you want most of the time in shallow water. The 8 degree cone is more of a straight down angle. That works great in really deep water or I use mine a lot fishing in tight cover to take some of the clutter off the display. So generally in shallow water I leave it on 20 degree and I will run the transducer up as high as I can in my hole without it getting interference from the ice at the bottom of the hole.

jeff_jensen
    cassville ,wis