Lakers on Light Tackle (Trip Report)

• tswoboda

I took a trip up north of the border for some on ice action with my favorite species, Lake Trout. I have been doing this for about 10 years now with my dad and his buddies who have been going for over 20 years, but this trip was a little different. It was just my dad and myself along with 3 of my buddies who were rookies and had never even seen a laker, let alone targeted them. To make things more difficult we only had 3 snowmobiles for the 5 of us in the deep snow/slushy conditions and 2 of the sleds blew up the first day. Not exactly ideal when we only have 2 days to fish.

Other than that the trip was a success as all 3 rookies landed their first laker in the first 2 hours of fishing. Nice to get the monkey off our back right away as I’ve seen a lot of first timers come up and not ice a fish, so I was pretty stoked for them all to have immediate success. In our two days we landed between 20 and 30 fish with many more lost; most fish in the 6-10 lb range with a few smaller and nothing big on this trip. We had a really good time and my buddies loved their first experience with the baked trout we ate on Friday night. The close up picture shows a fairly fresh bite mark on a 4 lber; it must have got T-boned from below by a big pike or musky!

For me the highlight was something I’ve never experience before. We pulled up to small a mud hump where we historically have marked lots of baitfish, assumed to be tullibees. So this trip I set up a slender spoon on my 32″ TUC Precision with a 1000 size Daiwa to see if I could ice a few tullies. Wouldn’t you know it 5 minutes into using the light walleye set up I get hooked up, but this was definitely no tullibee! It ended up being a 10 lb 13 oz laker, the biggest of the trip, and super fun to battle on light tackle. The fight was probably around 5 minutes with a few big runs and I was pleasantly surprised in the rod’s ability to handle a hard fighting laker.