Help – Fish Flasher Explanation

• johnnyg105
    Hugo, MN

I have a flasher, it’s my Grandpa’s so I’m not sure on the make or model but I figure it’s better than nothing.

My issue is I’ve never used a flasher before so I don’t know what the lines represent.

The picture I’ve attached is a generic picture off the web.

Would the line at 14′ be the lure? What about 23′ and 25′ and I’m guessing but it makes sense the red line at 27.2 is the fish, then what is left the bottom?

Thanks and sorry for questions but if I don’t ask I’ll never learn.

mojogunter

I would guess that at 25′ would be bait/jig and 23′ could be a weight, or fish at 25 and jig/bait at 23′. Fish of any size though would show up as red.

patk
    Nisswa, MN

I would guess that 27.2 is the bottom and agree with the earlier response.

My advice would be to go out on the water and play with it. I got my first flasher four years ago and there was no substitute for trial, error, and practice. Drop your lure down and watch it fall. See where it hits the bottom. Hopefully you’re on fish and you can see them come up to your bait. etc.

Have fun!

mbenson
    Minocqua, Wisconsin