How does this make any sense — Cannot transport Canadian game birds into US?

• CaptainMusky

How on Earth does this make any sense at all? Do they not understand they are migratory birds and they will end up here anyway? Make it make sense.

gimruis
    Plymouth, MN

I’m far from an expert on this subject, but it also includes domesticated poultry. I believe that is actually the primary intention, not to prohibit the importation of harvested game birds/waterfowl by hunters. Its not just one government either; its both that have gone into an agreement on this now. Some people like to blame the Canadian government for their restrictions, but in this case its mutual agreement by both Canada and the US. I think you could process the game birds or waterfowl, and then ship them, couldn’t you? The reg link below indicates you can import them “fully finished.” I’m not completely sure what that even means. I think it means you could cook or smoke it, and then label it properly prior to crossing the border.

https://www.aphis.usda.gov/aphis/newsroom/stakeholder-info/sa_by_date/sa-2022/restrictions-onhhwg-meat

CaptainMusky

I’m far from an expert on this subject, but it also includes domesticated poultry. I believe that is actually the primary intention, not to prohibit the importation of harvested game birds/waterfowl by hunters. Its not just one government either; its both that have gone into an agreement on this now. Some people like to blame the Canadian government for their restrictions, but in this case its mutual agreement by both Canada and the US. I think you could process the game birds or waterfowl, and then ship them, couldn’t you?

Thanks for sharing that link. I wasnt aware that a processed harvest could be brought it. That does indeed make sense then.

gimruis
    Plymouth, MN

Thanks for sharing that link. I wasnt aware that a processed harvest could be brought it. That does indeed make sense then.