Homemade Bacon

• picklerick
    Central WI

I did a search and couldn’t find any recent posts about making your own bacon. I’ve been making pork belly burnt ends for years, but this is my first try at bacon. I used a simple wet cure recipe that’s easy enough to remember off the top of my head. I hope it turns out because I like simple recipes. 1 gallon water, 1 cup salt, 1 cup sugar, 1 cup brown sugar, and 2 teaspoons of #1 cure. The recipe said they’d used anywhere from 1 teaspoon cure up to 1 tablespoon of cure. The packet from LEM said to use 1/4 teaspoon per pound of meat, so for #8 of belly I used two teaspoons. I cut the belly into four pieces and put two each into two one gallon storage containers and split the wet cure between them. I used a plastic measuring cup under the lid to make sure the meat is fully submerged. I started the curing around noon on Sat and plan to smoke them to a temp of 150 this Sun. I’ll let you know how it turns out.

I’m sure several of you make your own bacon. Does any of that sound wrong to you? Any tips? I like a pepper bacon sometimes, so I’m guessing I can just pepper up one or two chunks before it hits the smoker.

Jimmy Jones

I buy bellies and use a simple sugar cure: 1 cup each dark brown sugar and Morton’s Tenderquick. The Tenderquick has the proper cure in it along with some salt.

I coat each side and place falt in plastic cake pans with covers and set i the fridge for two full days. I give each a quick rinse in really cold water, then dry on a clean terry cloth towel and set in the smoker and have at it. I smoke it fairly cool, 170 or less. When the bacon has taken on a nice honey color I pull it and allow it to cool naturally before wrapping in freezer wrap and letting it rest a day in the fridge again before slicing.

Don’t skrimp on the brown sugar. I use C&H dark brown. Generic and cheaper brands are nothing but crap.

picklerick
    Central WI