Humminbird 597ci HD DI

• smoke grub

I have been saving for months to buy this unit, sometime this spring.. I am using all my amazon gift cards for over a year from various holidays..
    one are there any drawbacks with this unit?
    two does it come “ready to use” with all functions or do you need to pay for more add ons like temp or speed?

three, it says an internal GPS .. can you use an exterior antenna , do you need an exterior antenna.. I am going to be using this unit almost exclusively on the Mississippi river.. I want to mark trips.. waypoints.. and I need it to show wingdams..

lastly I have a lakemaster chip.. for my hand held gps.. can I use this in this unit or do I have to purchase another chip.. I hope not, cuz for me and my house , I am stretching the budget to do this.. that’s why I haven’t spent any of my personal gifts on my self for over a year.. Fathers day, Christmas, birthday etc.. and asked for gift cards instead..
    and lastly.. is it worth it to buy the color,, or can you do the same with a lower black and white version?

I do need the down imaging and mostly the GPS..that’s the giant reason I am finally pulling the plug and getting one of these.. any comments , opinions , questions.. what not..

lastly did I hear that there is a problem setting up the transducers on these units? thanks for your time.. smokegrub..

nhamm
    Inactive
    Robbinsdale