North Dakotas Oil Boom

• jeff_huberty
    Inactive

I guess I am posting this as an observation from a non-resident perspective, “Just a heads up”.

I have been hunting and fishing out in ND for the last 10-15 years. I have always marveled at the scenery, weather it was walking the prairie for pheasants, or sitting in a slough for ducks, or fishing on the Mighty Missouri River. I always have had a sense of peace inside me when I am out there, I can’t help but imagine back in time what was once there, and I appreciate what is still there now.

Another jewel in ND is its residents; they have always extended a friendly hand, and a smile. On my first duck hunting trip in ND, I rented a home on a farm from a local farmer who I had never met before; we were staying in a home on his property. After the first day of hunting we returned to the house and found two freshly baked pies waiting for us on the kitchen table. Needless to say we returned for many years after. If you ever have traveled through the back roads of ND you will know that any vehicle that has ND plates will wave a friendly hello.

So I just came back from a trip up to Garrison ND, right off the bat as a traveler you notice something different, there is a significant increased of truck traffic on HWY 94 traveling westbound. They are hauling heavy equipment, brand new campers, mobile homes, and tankers. As you watch the oncoming eastbound traffic the flatbeds are empty, there are none of the camper trailers returning, and no equipment is headed eastbound. It’s the impact of the oil fields that you see.

What you don’t see is the impact that this amount traffic is having on the ND prairie.
    Yes there is a major economic impact for those who benefit and profit from this boom.