From bad to worse

• acafisherman19

Hey all,

As suggested by the title, I had a situation this weekend that’s got me a bit worried, and I’m hoping for some more experienced people to give me some advice.

I fished a tournament for the first time this weekend, and to make a long story short, we had a considerable amount of problems (incorrectly placed battery hookups, beached on a sand bar, late to the take off by an hour) before things got worse. While running down the lake, about three and half miles from the launch, the boat simply stopped, full throttle at full operating speed. I got it started again, and after about another half mile at full throttle it stopped again. Rinse and repeat, and the next time I couldn’t get it started at all. Then I checked the oil, and found an empty tank. We ended up going to a closer launch, calling some friends and getting ultimately towed in, without a fish to weigh in for the tourney.

Needless to say, I’m not very experienced with outboard motors. This is going to be my third year with this particular boat, and I’ve never had to replace the oil before, despite checking the large tank a few times. I even said something to my partner for the tournament just before it quit for good that I thought it could be the oil, but never checked it. In hindsight, that obviously should’ve been my first thought, but due to lack of experience and poor thinking in general, I didn’t. He had more experience and seemed to think that the oil wouldn’t be a problem for quite a while of it being empty, and he thought it could be a fuel problem.