First Ham Radio Selection Help

• jwellsy

I’m studying the ARRL Technician exam book and plan on taking the test in July.

I’d like some input on on what radio to get. I’m thinking of starting with a Yaesu mobile unit. I can set that up in the house or the truck.

Are the NOAA weather channels available on most dual band radios or do you have to get an aviation or marine model to get those?

I’d prefer to stay under $300, but realize stretching to $500-$600 may be the best value point.

I don’t like buying used electronics.

Ike Sell

Hey, Mike here, K0COM, been a ham for 20 plus years and a fisherman for many more. Look at at radio like you would a fishing rod and reel. While you can find some to cover a wide range of applications, once one gets some experience, one narrows down the tool to fit the job most effectively and efficiently. I’d split the NOAA radio away from a ham radio. For the radio determine what frequency bands and modes you want to get on. Most Tech class hams focus on vhf/uhf bands and the new digital voice modes are hot. The rub is that two types (d-star and dmr) are in use. I’d check in with a local radio club to see what the local groups are using. Or if you have others you plan on communicating with, you will want to go with the same digital mode… they are not compatible with each other. There are several good on-line suppliers for amateur equipment. HRO, DX Eng., R&L, and Giga Parts. One can read reviews on eham.com. Good luck with the test.

Attachments:
    1. FCEEE63B-1725-44C1-BCF2-011E7317807C.jpeg

HookLine&Sinker

There are a lot of variables that will determine what the “best” mobile unit will be for you. Too many to easily hash through in text. Most of the ham radio clubs have in-person meetings that would give you a chance to talk with knowledgeable people who could guide you in the right direction.