What do you think walleye guys?

• tony_p
    Waterloo, IA

With the rise in the water temps and low flow, is now the time target the deep water with lead core trolling?Or am I just thinking to much.If so whats your presentation trolling speed and how deep of water are you fishing? Im pretty well ignorant to lead core.

john mannerino
    Chicago IL

I`m not sure I would look deep. The baits not there.#1 Look at sloughs that have current and wood.#2 Troll main channel riprap and wing dam tips. #3 Main channel clam beds. I would not fish deeper than 15ft. Dont be affraid to burn cranks. Just my thinking.

tony_p
    Waterloo, IA

Thanks .I have been doing well in those locations.I was just woundering when the best time to leadcore is, and why.

superdave
    NE IA

Tony, I was hoping you had the answer to that question. I’m also new to lead and want to give it a try. I was thinking of trying this weekend up your way, are you going out?

tony_p
    Waterloo, IA

I should be out on friday.Not sure whats in store for the weekend yet.I might fish a tournament on pool 7 saturday.If I do I will also be there on friday looking around.If I stay home I will let ya know .

greatplains
    Hudson, WI

I pull lead on the Croix all year. Lately we’ve been picking most of our fish up in 20′ to 30′ of water. Fast is best this time of year( 2.5-3.5MPG), with 180′ to 210′ of lead out. Been another stellar year on the Croix. Last Sunday we put 12 fish between 16″ and 20″ in about 2 hours. Mixed saugers and eyes. There are some great breaks on pool 4 that produce all summer with the same program. Not a lot of big fish, but good for numbers.

b_sander
    Red Wing , MN

180 to 210 ft out holy smokes!!! I dont think Ive ever broke 150ft

You might want to try a snap weight or a down rigger!! That might save on your wrist!!

john mannerino
    Chicago IL