Power Pro, or Tuf line XP

• rdwheeler
    Hudson WI

Sooooo I have been running Power Pro for 2 years now on all of my musky gear, and have not had many complaints, but i have been reading a bit about the new XP by Tuf Line… Anyone use XP? I bought a brand new spool of both today from Gander. Both are 80 lb. test, and very close to the same diameter. I am gonna take and set up 2 identical rods this season and see what happens! I have heard talk about much less backlashing on blades with the XP, but we will soon find out!

a.j.-wiesner
    Ely,MN / Rochester,MN

I personally use power pro 100lb for most fishing i do. i have used the tuf line xp before and been impressed with the quality of the line. ALL I CAN SAY IS DON’T USE SUFFIX 832!.

On a side note i have heard from some top pros that cortland master braid is the way2 go and this is what i will be trying this year.

red89
    Hudson

I haven’t tried very many different lines, as I don’t musky fish that hard, but the Cortland line is what I have spooled on two of our reels right now and I would say the stuff casts awesome.

matt-p
    White Bear Lake, MN

I have tuff line masterbraid and power pro on my musky rods and love all of them.. I haven’t had any problems with any of them. Depending on the rod I have either 80 or 100 lb spooled on.

James Holst
    Keymaster
    SE Minnesota

Quote:

ALL I CAN SAY IS DON’T USE SUFFIX 832!.

AJ

What can you tell me about your experiences with 832 on your muskie rods? I’m about to spool up some reels and I was going to give 832 a try. Most everything I use now is spooled with Masterbraid, which has been good to me.

Sounds like maybe I should leave well enough alone….

a.j.-wiesner
    Ely,MN / Rochester,MN

I hate to beat a dead horse and tell you a story that almost everybody has heard. I was using NEW 832 on a nice curado and new st. croix rod and broke off the fish of my dreams….or at least one of the better fish in the metro.