Hornady SST 12 gauge slugs

• magnum165
    Baldwin, WI

Have any of you guys shot the SST 12 gauge slugs? I am in a shotgun only zone and just picked up a fully riffled slug barrel for my 870. I am thinking about trying these slugs and I am looking for some feed back.

Thanks,

Mike

llong

I have not personally used these slugs, but was in the same boat as you, thinking about trying them. I went to Cabelas online and looked at the reviews for them and that helped me determine not to use them. Guys say they have great accuracy but no knockdown power, and I wanted knockdown power

haasjj
    Cordova, IL

My brother and I have been shooting Remington Copper solids for 5 years with a rifled barrels and they hold true out to 150 & 200yds, respectively. My brother holds has a 4-12 scope so he likes the 200 yds target. With my 4X scope, I can’t see farther than 150. The energy they hold even at those ranges is incredible. They are pricy, but a box should kill 5 deer once you’ve got them scoped in. I shoot a NEP single shot 12 because all you need is a one shot.

Good Luck.

Tom Sawvell
    Inactive

Winchester’s Partition Gold slugs are something else. You’ll want to shoot several different varieties of slugs thru the gun to see which does the best for you. I know of people who shoot the coppers that can’t get a partition gold to come together at all. I know people who can’t do the Hornady’s because they won’t group for their gun. Shop around a little.

kooty
    Keymaster
    1 hour 15 mins to the Pond

Maybe make a post over here also. Might get an answer to what you are looking for.

Hunting Side

kroger3
    blaine mn

I shoot these rounds but in a 20ga form a browing gold fully rifled scoped gun and it is honestly the best round I have ever fired out of this weapon. I tried several other rounds and had ok results but these rounds are right on! I would never hesitate to take a 200 yard shot!

Dave Ansell
    Rushford, MN