Favorite braid? Mono?

• rainman2
    metro area

Whats your favorite braid line for walleye fishing?

How about mono?

jhalfen

While not actually a braid, my favorite superline is Fireline Crystal.

For mono’s, I’ve been running Sufix Elite hi-vis yellow for a few years, but have recently begun converting over to the Cortland mono that Dean is carrying at Everts. The Cortland is spooled on the bottom reel in this pic.

Fife
    Ramsey, MN

PowerPro and old reliable Trilene XT.

toothycritters

spiderwire braid, which by the way has a $6 rebate right now , trilene for mono.

shaley
    Milford IA

Trilene and Power Pro

tom_gursky
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula(Iron Mountain)

Mustad Ultra Pro Mono (now discontinued ) and either Sufix or PP braid. I have spooled up some Cortland Endeavor 6# mono to try in a few weeks on P-4.

rgeister
    SW Wisconsin

This could easily become a “Ford vs Chevy vs Toyota vs Dodge” deal…of course we all know what’s best in those choices…

Anyway… within my circle there are lots of opnions, but its clear that when it comes to braid, nothing beats PowerPro.

As for non-braid fishing lines… lots of opinions, but as some have stated, Trilene XT is tough to beat for flippin’ and Pitchin’ basic mono.

Personally, I am addicted to the “P-Line Floroclear”, have since its introduction ~8 or so years ago. Its a co-polymer… basically a monofilament with a floro coating… strong knots, good abrasion resistense, super-clear, and better catsability than Floro. Its downside is that it is like any other mono and gets a memory and has some stretch (good thing, sometimes, of course). To solve the catsability issues that develop from memory, I simply respool a couple times a season, at $8 a spool, its cheap insurance.