Best rod guides

• Lynn
    Minnesota, Crow Wing county

I’m a big braided line guy and an wondering if anyone has found a certain brand of rod guides that don’t wear out? After a couple of years I start to notice some small grooves that are do to line abrasion.

trumar
    Rochester, Mn

As a rod builder I have used Recoil guides,but mostly used the Fugi Alconite guides and the Fugi K-Series guides.

I believe those 3 listed are the BEST guides out there, the K series guides being the best !

You can buy some lower dollar titanium insert guides but the are a bit heavy for my liking.

JMHO Jeff

Eric Pomplun
    janesville, wisconsin

Another vote for fuji guides never seem to have a problem and they take abuse. when buying a store made rod i always try to look for rods made with fuji guides and then i know that the rod has a quality set of guides on it.

uffdapete
    Rainy Lake, MN

I used to buy guides from a supplier in Indiana that were very reasonably priced. A long time rod builder friend demonstrated their durability by taking a small 3 square file to the rings and he couldn’t even scratch them.

Unfortunately this supplier went to fly fishing only -)

trumar
    Rochester, Mn

Quote:

I used to buy guides from a supplier in Indiana that were very reasonably priced. A long time rod builder friend demonstrated their durability by taking a small 3 square file to the rings and he couldn’t even scratch them.

Unfortunately this supplier went to fly fishing only -)

I know those guides well, we used to take a rat tail file and file on them too.. most all TICH guides today hold up to braided lines GREAT,but I went to building light as possible and sensitive rods so I havent used those guides in years.

red89
    Hudson