Elliot Rods vs G. Loomis vs. St. Croix

• Steven Krapfl
    Springville, Iowa

So, I was at Scheels the other day and they had some Elliot rods, which I played with and liked a lot, but am an admitted St. Croix and G. Loomis user. I was wondering what people’s thoughts were on Elliot rods, I am sure there are reviews out there, but do they stack up to the NRX or the Legend Elites of the bigger brands? For the price, they seem fairly cheap, all things considered. I was looking at selling some sticks and switching, but want to know what other’s thoughts were. The rods I was looking at were the 6’10” ML, the 6’9″ medium, or the 7’1″ medium. These rods will be used for primarily pitching jigs. Please feel free to comment if you got some advise. Thanks!

Bearcat89
    North branch, mn

Well the thorne bros are building them so the quality has to be on par with the higher end rods. I haven’t made the switch yet but am considering buying one.

John Rasmussen
    Blaine

I have no experience with Elliot but plan to try one out at some point, however for me the Loomis is by far a better feel than the Criox, they also seem lighter, not sure on actual specs though.

BrianF

I’m agnostic when it comes to brands. Just want to use the best. I’ve got an Elliot though find I tend to reach for the GLoomis when in the boat. They’re good rods, but I’m not a big fan of St. Croix rods outside their musky line of rods. Buddies I fish with love em. Personally, my vote is GLoomis, unless you’re talking musky rods.

Steven Krapfl
    Springville, Iowa

I have no experience with Elliot but plan to try one out at some point, however for me the Loomis is by far a better feel than the Criox, they also seem lighter, not sure on actual specs though.