Drill life

• josh schauf

Question for people that know a little or a lot about ice fishing with a drill auger. How long does the drill last? Not the battery.I have a dewalt hammer drill and I’m thinking of getting a kdrill for it or something like that.

Bearcat89
    North branch, mn

The battery life or the life of my drill? I been running my hilti for 4 years now I think and no sign of slowing down. I can’t remember what battery life was per hole. But I drill a ton of holes some days and never ran out of 2 batteries.

buckybadger
    Upper Midwest

My Milwaukee drills have fallen off roofs, dropped off tailgates, been left in fields by accident on fencing projects (during rain), drilled thousands of ice holes…and keep ripping.

My Milwaukee tools are the one thing I knowingly beat on and won’t deny it. Vehicles, recreational toys, fishing gear, etc I’m far more likely to baby.

404 ERROR
    MN

I’v got a 996 that I’ve been using on the ice for probably 4-5 years now. I use it all summer as well and it just keeps ticking. No issues. I beat the p1ss out of the thing and hasn’t let me down.

Matt Moen
    South Minneapolis

I broke a Ryobi after a year…case on the drill cracked. Problem is, I was going cheap on the drill and you get what you pay for. The drill was a bit underpowered, especially when the ice was beat up. It would catch a lot while cutting. That catch was pretty violent and eventually cracked it. It was a brushless hammer drill rated at 750 inch pounds of torque.

Bottom line, have the right setup and use them properly and they should last. Mine was an interim setup til I bought the strikemaster 24v but a better drill would’ve been nice.

KP
    Hudson, WI

The battery life or the life of my drill? I been running my hilti for 4 years now I think and no sign of slowing down. I can’t remember what battery life was per hole. But I drill a ton of holes some days and never ran out of 2 batteries.