Lower st croix Smallies??

• hosejr

I have been fishing the lower part of the croix the last few weeks and I have done less than stellar. been just throwing a wacky rig and raps.on any rocky shorline I can find. Boating a few fish a day. I know there is fish down thier but I am new to both river fishing and smallmouth fishing but I am loving it. Any help will be greatly appriciated. Im not asking for you to give up your honey hole or anything but if you could send me the GPS coordinantes that would be great Just kidding.

Thanks Will!

steveo
    W Central Sconnie

No expert but this time of the year they aren’t on the banks but probably suspended in deep water. There are always some while trolling for walleye. If you find humps, sunken islands in deeper water you may have luck there. I don’t target them much now until fall

briansmude

Throw tubes at current seams, leading-edges of eddies and any kind of current breaks. Smallies like current but they feed on bait that doesn’t like current.

Jesse Krook
    Y.M.H.

There’s still smallie’s in the Croix ?

hmmm….

bzzsaw
    Hudson, Wi

There is a point on the WI side south of Afton called Black Bass Bar. I wouldn’t be afraid to try that spot for bass. I’ve caught bass on that point in the past. There are lots of points just like Black Bass that I’ve also caught bass on (Catfish Bar, Kinni Narrows). Early in the year, the bass are usually up shallow. I’m not sure about now. I don’t fish for those green fish. Good luck.

d-train

Quote:

No expert but this time of the year they aren’t on the banks but probably suspended in deep water. There are always some while trolling for walleye. If you find humps, sunken islands in deeper water you may have luck there. I don’t target them much now until fall

I troll crankbaits almost exclusively when I fish the Croix, and I don’t remember the last time I’ve caught a smallie. Definitely not this year.