Change prop or bigger motor?

• Jeffrey Trapp
    Milbank, SD

I have little to no knowledge of boat motors so I thought I would ask this question. I have a skeeter tiller that is rated for a 75 horse motor. Right now I have a two year old 70 horse 4 stroke on it. It takes quite a while to get to plane when I have a few other people in the boat or when I have water in my rear livewell. I have heard that changing the prop could work but would reduce my top speed? I really don’t care how fast I go… Or should I look at getting a 75 horse? That being said should I get a 2 stroke or a 4 stroke? I heard something about the 4 strokes getting their power from high rpm’s and that is why it takes my boat so long to plane but I have no idea. Any help from the gallery? Thanks in advance.

wimwuen
    LaCrosse, WI

If you’re looking for the best bang for the buck, I would say a spitfire 4 blade aluminum prop in the same pitch you run now would get you way better hole shot and on plane faster, with very little top end loss. Since you run a yamaha, you’d also need to get the Mercury Flo Torque Hub system for your Yamy (about $50). You won’t see much difference between that 70 and 75, especially since the 70 is so much lighter.

SuperDave1959
    Harrisville, UT

If you’re looking for the best bang for the buck, I would say a spitfire 4 blade aluminum prop in the same pitch you run now would get you way better hole shot and on plane faster, with very little top end loss. Since you run a yamaha, you’d also need to get the Mercury Flo Torque Hub system for your Yamy (about $50). You won’t see much difference between that 70 and 75, especially since the 70 is so much lighter.