Setting the hook

• fishhead
    Chaska

I’m a self taught cat man(except for articles and Dan Gapens book)I always let the cat take the bait downstream then whack him hard.In Gapens book he says you should set the hook before he turns down stream.I always miss or can never feel the bite.On a good day I miss 1 out of 5 on an average day I miss1 out of 3.This is using a kahle style hook.If I’m using anything else I might as well be sitting in the bar.How do any of you guys drive it home?

dirk_w.
    Minnesota

Good question. I dont know the answer but heres my opinion. If its cut bait I set the the clicker as light as I can and if I’m holding the rod that cat doesnt go more tan two feet and the hook is set. Cut bait isnt large and if they have it they have it. If the rod is in the holder and I here the clicker I get to the rod ASAP and set as soon as the fish starts to run again. I was out last night and was missing fish. The ones I caught were all under 5lbs and all channels. Match the hook size to the bait you using. 1/0 – 3/0 for cut bait. If your missing allot of fish they may be small “fiddlers”, drum, etc.

Live bait is a different story. I usually let them run longer depending on how “strong” the run is. If its a tentative run I wait up to 15 seconds??? If the the line is screaming I usually set. If the bait was a 8 inch chub in my favorite flat spot and I miss, thats when I begin to cry!!! Channels love live bait but their mouths are smaller. Other, and better, cat men will have different opinions on this. Lets here them boys!!!

mavzer
    Hager City, WI

It depends on the amount of cover you are fishing….. If it’s cut baite I usually wiate until I think that they turn with it and then set,,,, for flats if it is in a snag infested hole can’t let them run with it for land….. but if you are on a run or flat above a nice whole then let them take it for a good run…..

katfish
    Ohio