Buying my first boat – need your rigging help.

• Hodag Hunter
    Northern Wisconsin

I am 58 and plan to buy my first real boat Tuesday. Alumacraft Classic 165 CS with 60HP Merc. All I have had are 14 Alumacraft rowboats (bench seats) with a 6 or 8HP on it. I am trying to retire (but the phone keeps ringing). So I figure it’s time to retire the 14 footers.

I am not made of money, BUT I do want to buy once – cry once as they say. I have zero knowledge of electronics and trolling motors other than what I read online. I figure this place is my best source of info.

Trolling motor- Getting a Minnkota with I-Pilot. Do I need the cordless remote?

Locators- I see most boats have a bigger screen at the console and a smaller one at the bow. I was thinking Helix 9 at the counsel and a Helix 7 at the bow. What sizes do I need? Will a Helix 7 & 5 be good?

Bimini top- Anyone have one? Do you use it? Will your next boat have one? Factory (Dowco) for $1200 or other brand ($300-800) I install. Do I need a top?

Any other must haves? All suggestions are welcome.

Matt Moen
    South Minneapolis

Congrats – that will be a great boat.

To answer your questions – yes on the remote. You will also have the pedal but you will want the remote.

I think you will want the 9 at the counsel. A 7 will likely be a bit small. I run 9/7 in Garmins on a slightly bigger boat and I would go even bigger if I could.

The bimini is a great option….I’d make sure to get one that is easily removable or folds down out of the way well. Not sure if you will have kids/grandkids/wife in the boat but if you do, a bimini is a must. I’d likely spend the money now and get the factory version. In my experience you get what you pay for.

Buzz
    Minneapolis MN

Depends on what your planning to fish? Walleyes-trolling or Bass-casting from front? I’m a Bass guy and would have the 9DI Mega on the bow with an Ultrex trolling motor. If your getting into side-imaging then a 9SI on the console.

boone
    Woodbury, MN