Boundary Waters Ice Camping/Fishing- What to bring?

• B-man

Going in for a 5 mile hike and one night stay with some buddies.

I’ve never done it before and just looking for some pointers on equipment.

Here’s my list, please add to it/change it as needed. Trying to pack as light as possible.

The forecast is warm for the season, with a low in the upper teens overnight as of now.

For fishing:

Sled on Smitty Sled
    Two rods
    A tiny tackle box
    Graph/GPS
    Leatherman
    Hand auger

For cooking/eating:

Jet boil
    A couple packs of Ramen
    A couple packs of Oatmeal
    Jerky
    Booze in a plastic bottle
    Water bottle
    Plastic Spork

For Sleeping:

0 degree mummy bag
    Foam pad
    Heat packs

Thinking about just sleeping on the ground, it’s only one night and not forecasted to snow or be crazy cold

Clothes:

Striker outerwear
    Synthetic sweatshirt/pants
    Thermal unders
    Pack boots
    Light boots for the walk in
    Gaiters
    Hat/mitts/full face mask for sleeping
    Extra socks, extra thermal bottoms

Miscellaneous:

Canoe Pack to keep everything dry/contained
    Lighters
    Headlamp
    Compass
    Paracord
    PLB (personal locator beacon)
    Small garbage bag
    Couple bandaids and Advil
    Folding fillet knife
    Couple of gallon ziplocs
    Sunglasses

Optional:

Snowshoes
    Helinox Chair or a bucket w/pad

What am I missing?

What don’t I need?

Obviously going to walk in wearing minimal clothes and light boots to stay dry/cool

We have a short portage, if it’s too rough for the smitty sled, I’ll put the smitty in the sled for that part of the hike.

Huntindave
    Shell Rock Iowa

A tarp to make a wind shelter both for cooking and sleeping, especially if you are going sans tent. Some sort of water filtration for your drinking water unless you plan to boil each time, before refilling your water bottle.

tswoboda

The jetboil won’t work well under 30*