Boat wiring help — going to positive and negative busbar

• CaptainMusky

Background info. I have 2 7″ GPS units at the console and recently I have been having issues with them both functioning when the outboard isnt running due to voltage drop. I can run one fine, but both, nope. Late last summer I installed a second cranking battery and have them in parallel for a combined 12 volts but the problem still persists.
    Now I purchased a 12 terminal positive and 12 terminal negative busbar thinking the issue is multiple wires on the same terminal since the factory busbar is rather small and a combined unit.
    My confusion set in when I look that my existing one has a larger gauge wire on each end whether it be positive or negative, but my new busbars only have 1 big terminal.
    Its harder than heck to see where these wires go, but I am assuming the larger gauge wires go to either the breaker circuit or the switches. I have a master switch that must be turned on for any of the electronics to work. The master switch has that same gauge wire on two of the connections.
    Do I connect BOTH of the heavier gauge wires to the 1 post on the new busbars and then all the smaller wires which would be for the GPS units, etc to the smaller screws?
    I thought I had this figured out last Fall, but just getting around to doing it now and all sorts of confused.
    Here are two pics for reference. Help PLEASE!!! LOL

Attachments:
    1. 12terminalposnegbusbar-1.jpeg

2. IMG_20210601_130826283-1-scaled.jpg

3. 12terminalposnegbusbar.jpeg

4. IMG_20210601_130826283-scaled.jpg

Hot Runr Guy
    West Chicago, IL

Since nothing is labeled, you’ll need to determine which is the “feed” line, and which is feeding your switch panel and other things.

I’d pull this one off, and if nothing else works, that’s the one that goes to the threaded stud.

HRG

Blue Sea make a nice unit, that has 1/4-20 studs at both ends, plus 5 screw terminals.