Boat Purchase Priorities

• Dean Marshall
    Chippewa Falls WI /Ramsey MN

I have often wondered for those of you buying new or nearly new fishing boats, what is your main focus and or in what order is most important to you? This isn’t intended to talk brands, just what is most important to you. I appreciate hearing your rank order and or your thoughts behind your answer!

1 Brand of Boat
    2 Brand of Motor
    3 Dealer/ Service after the sale
    4 Price

Dutchboy
    Central Mn.

I’m all about the motor. If it doesn’t run properly whats the point of having a boat?

Price & dealer are the same to me. I will buy from who can service the motor at a fair price. I understand everybody needs to make a living but be fair and I’m good.

I’m not a pro or even a wannabe pro. I buy boats on the style (tiller, windshield) then size, then color or looks of the rig, then probably brand. I think today just about every major brand produces a good boat and the motor companies the same. It comes down to what I’m comfortable with. For example….I’m not a Evinrude guy. No special reason, I’ve never owned one, I just have never liked the looks. But thats me.

My next boat will likely be a brand I haven’t owned before. Not because previous brands or dealers were bad, but likely because of something different I wanted to try.

I also think guys will admit they buy what momma lets them buy. jester

Brian Klawitter
    Keymaster
    Minnesota/Wisconsin Mississippi River

Missing one Dean. In my case (that sure could be a one off) it was FW satisfaction.
    There wasn’t a preconceived thought on Brand of boat or motor or price. Service after the sale I would guess ranks highest of the items you’ve listed.

Thinking back, it was the way you took her into the office with a catalog and asked her what she was looking for. So again I would say Dealer was top in our case. Granted we have some history but she had 5 other opportunities with dealers that didn’t work out.