Boat Lifts

• Rick Z
    Stark MN

I am buying a house on a lake and it has a dock but no boat lift. Is it OK to buy used or should we look new? We have a 2016 Crestliner 1850 Sportfish, so I for sure want it to have a canopy. Also, any opinions on hand crank or electric?

Thanks for the suggestions!

Rick

Ralph Wiggum
    Maple Grove, MN

We’ve bought 4 used lifts in the past few years, and I would say that if you can find a used lift, go used.

While hand crank wouldn’t be terrible on that boat, electric is really nice.

blank

I have no experience with lifts, but if you are buying used, PLEASE follow the rules on transporting the lift from one body of water to another. Personally, I’d be worried that 21 days is too early for moving a lift from a zebra mussel infested lake into another.

Moving docks, lifts, and equipment to another waterbody
    If you plan to move a dock, lift or other water equipment from one lake or river to another, all visible zebra mussels, faucet snails, and aquatic plants must be removed whether they are dead or alive. You may not transport equipment with prohibited invasive species or aquatic plants attached. The equipment must be out of the water for 21 days before it can be placed in another waterbody.

https://www.dnr.state.mn.us/invasives/shoreland_owners.html

patk
    Nisswa, MN

Maybe more critical is steel vs aluminum. No right answer here as it’s tradeoffs. The lighter weight of aluminum may pay off when taking it in and out each year. That might be worth the additional cost.

While hand crank wouldn’t be terrible on that boat, electric is really nice.

Hand crank that is working well is just fine but yes the electric is very nice. Hand crank that is sticky or generally hard just sucks. We were hand cranking a 20′ glass boat for years without issue. Our neighbor bought used and a crank that was not in good condition. Good fun to watch him swear devil

Aaron Kalberer